Volcano Painting

File Mar 04, 5 57 41 PM
Ignore my dish drain full of dishes… real life right there

It’s not nearly as messy as the name suggests… and I did it outside, so cleanup was even easier!  I found this in one of my kiddos Highlights magazines and had all the ingredients, so we went for it!  And I was able to throw some dinner on the grill while they worked, bonus!!

 

 

 

 

 

 

What You’ll Need:

  • 6 muffin tin
  • Baking Soda
  • White Vinegar
  • Food Coloring
  • Large (or regular) coffee filters
  • Kids paint brushes
  • Items for flower stem: we used pipe cleaners but you could also use small sticks from the yard or drinking straws

To make the paint:

Put a tablespoon of baking powder into each muffin tin. Put some drops of food coloring in each muffin section, mixing colors and talking about which primary colors make the other colors.  In retrospect, I would use more than 4 drops of coloring to make the colors more vibrant.  Then, slowly pour the vinegar into each section to make the volcano!  I put the muffin tin on a cookie sheet to catch the “volcano” part.

Once it’s done erupting, lay out some coffee filters and let them go to town.  Once the filters dry, you can pop one of your “stems” through the middle of the filter and scrunch them up, fanning them out for the flower part.

File Mar 04, 5 57 57 PM
My little monkey showing off our creation!

My two monkeys really enjoyed this one and it kept them busy for a good 15 minutes, which in mom time is an eternity!  Good luck and let me know what you think!

Author: hiitormess

Mom 💜 Wife 💜 Editor 💜 Lover of food 💜 Storyteller 💜 Fitness Enthusiast 💜 Trying to live a healthy lifestyle in the real 🌎 while finding humor & trying not to lose my sh*t!

Leave a comment